Blogia
ateo poeta

en octubre: "I am all mouth"

en octubre: "I am all mouth"

 

 

The mouth of flowering’s finished. The fruit’s in,

Eaten or rotten. I am all mouth.

October’s the mouth for storage.

 

This shed’s fusty as a mummy’s stomach:

Old tools, handles and rusty tusks.

I am at home here among the dead heads.

 

Let me sit in a flowerpot,

The spiders won’t notice.

My heart is a stopped geranium.

 

If only the wind would leave my lungs alone.

Dogbody noses the petals. They bloom upside down.

They ruttle like hydrangea bushes.

 

Mouldering heads console me,

Nailed to the rafters yesterday:

Inmates who don’t hibernate.

 

Cabbageheads: wormy purple, silver-glaze,

A dressing of mule ears, mothy pelts, but green hearted,

Their veins white as porkfat.

 

O the beauty of usage!

The orange pumpkins have no eyes.

These halls are full of women who think they are birds.

 

This is a dull school.

I am a root, a stone, an owl pellet,

Without dreams of any sort.

 

Mother, you are the one mouth

I would be a tongue to. Mother of otherness

Eat me. Wastebasket gaper, shadow of doorways.

 

I said: I must remember this, being small.

There were such enormous flowers,

Purple and red mouths, utterly lovely.

 

The hoops of blackberry stems made me cry.

Now they light me up like an electric bulb.

For weeks I can remember nothing at all.

 

Silvia Plath, From ’Poem for a Birthday’

 

 

(Traducción de Jesús Pardo:

 

Floreal término. Cayó la fruta,

pudrióse o fue comida. Sólo boca

soy. En octubre, mes de almacenaje.

 

El cobertizo huele a tripa rancia

de momia: herramientas, colmillos, moho.

En casa estoy, entre cabezas muertas.

 

Dejadme que me siente en este tiesto,

ninguna araña lo verá, paróse

mi corazón como un geranio.

 

Ojalá el viento deje mis pulmones.

Los pétalos nasales. Boca abajo

las flores, sonoras como hortensias.

 

Cabezas putrescentes me consuelan,

ayer clavadas a las vigas: de estos

pupilos no será el invierno.

 

Repollos: plata mate, agusanada

púrpura, piel comida, oreja aguda,

corazón verde. Venas de tocino.

 

¡Oh, belleza del hábito! No tiene

ojos la calabaza. Estas estancias

hierven de chicas que se piensan pájaros.

 

Monótono colegio. Soy raíz,

piedra, plumón de búho,

vivo sin sueños de ninguna clase.

 

Madre, tú eres el mes único

de quien yo fuera lengua. Madre de aire,

cómeme. Sombra de dinteles vanos.

 

Dije: me acordaré, pues soy pequeña.

Había flores tan enormes,

bocas rojas y púrpura, bellísimas.

 

Los tallos de las moras me hacen daño.

Ahora me encienden como una bombilla.

Desde hace días no recuerdo nada.)

 

 

 

0 comentarios